Skip to content

Habituate

distinguishable dance music only!

I’ve run into the problem of accurately describing to people what exactly I mean when I say I play disco music. I can describe my dilemma by looking back to 1976, a pinnacle year for mainstream disco, the top selling singles were songs like “Shake, Shake, Shake” by KC & The Sunshine band, “Boogie Fever” by the Sylvers, and “You Should Be Dancing” by the Bee Gees. All quality and iconic pieces of music in their own right but also, sadly, the basis for pigeon holing all other disco music.

To really understand the drastic variation I now look at another single released that same year by Patrick Adams’ and Peter Brown’s collaboration, Cloud One. Their production “Atmosphere Strut Pt.1 & Pt.2” is roughly ten minutes of raw electronic soul, heavy head music that rips to shreds the glittery gold of the televised disco-pop and brings in the true grit that is a late night, substance fueled party. In my opinion Cloud One’s productions showcase the redeeming values and persisting elements of disco that are still found in quality dance music today and throughout it’s evolution. Extended rhythm, squelching electronic synthesizers, and a raw instrumental back-beat. It’s the stuff pure magic is made of. It’s the matter that fuels late night dance floors, it fueled it in the days of Cloud One, it fuels it now and as far as I’m concerned it will fuel the floors forever.

Here are 3 Cloud One productions that can not be missed.

“Atmosphere Strut” (1976) (My favorite by far)

“Music Funk” (1977)

“Patty Duke” (1979)

Tags: , ,